Burrows takes chair of NMI - Embedded.com

Burrows takes chair of NMI


LONDON — Dr. David Burrows is the new chairman of the National Microelectronics Institute (NMI), the trade association representing the interests of the semiconductor industry in the U.K. and Ireland.

Burrows, formerly the vice chairman of the NMI’s Board of Directors, takes over the chairmanship from Steve Neill, vice president, Bristol Design Centre and Technical Director, Infineon Technologies (UK) Ltd.

Dr Burrows is currently Director of Aptina’s U.K. Imaging Design Centre and is a Visiting Professor and Chair of the Industrial Advisory Board in the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering at the University of Bristol.

After receiving a degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering and a PhD on mobile radio and control theory from Bath University, Dr. Burrows joined Plessey Research in 1982 to work on radar systems using field programmable hardware, where he later later set-up the silicon engineering group to develop structured design methods and CAD tools in the areas of built-in self test and logic synthesis. He joined LSI Logic in 1988 to work on mixed signal CAD software.

In 1998 Dr. Burrows established a new R&D organisation for Micron Corp. to develop logic and mixed signal IP for its embedded memory technologies. By 2003 the department was focused on foundation IP and product design to support Micron’s CMOS imaging product range. He now runs the U.K. Imaging Design Centre for Aptina, a wholly owned subsidiary of Micron.

In the NMI's annual awards National Semiconductor won both the environmental award sponsored by International Rectifier and manufacturing site of the year sponsored by Origin with Cam Semi winning start-up of the year sponsored by Cadence and Dialog Semiconductor the outstanding innovation award sponsored by the Electronics Leadership Council. Emerging technology company of the year award sponsored by Unisem was won by Algotronix while Diodes Zetex won the low power design award sponsored Synopsys. The services to training and education award sponsored by ARM was won by International Rectifier and Ian Philips of ARM was recognized for his contribution to industry in an award sponsored by BERR.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.