Eighteen appointed to EIT board - Embedded.com

Eighteen appointed to EIT board


LONDON — The European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) has announced it initial governing board which is made up of 18 professionals, providing a balance of expertise and experience from the worlds of business, research and higher education in Europe and it will be responsible for overall strategy-setting and for the selection, coordination and evaluation of the Knowledge and Innovation Communities (KICs), the EIT's operational centres.

“I am delighted with the nomination of the EIT's first Governing Board,” said José Manuel Barroso, European Commission President. “The EIT is soon to become a reality and I am convinced that the excellence and commitment of the Board's members will make it a success.”

The EIT is the first European initiative to integrate fully higher education, research, and business/innovation and will seek to stand out as a world-class innovation-orientated reference model, inspiring and driving change in existing education and research institutions.

The Governing Board members are:

CARAÇA, João (Director, Science Department, Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian; Professor, Science and Technology Policy, Instituto Superior Economia e Gestão)

CASTELLS, Manuel, Dr. (Research Professor, Open University of Catalonia (Barcelona) and University of Southern California (Los Angeles); Former member, Scientific Council of the European Research council)

COLLOMB, Bertrand, Dr. (Honorary Chairman, Lafarge; Chairman, Institut des Hautes Etudes pour la Science et la Technologie)

COLOMBO, Giovanni (Adjunct Professor, Politecnico di Torino; Former CTO, Telecom Italia LAB and Head of long-term research, Telecom Italia)

DE BRABANDER, Ellen, Dr. (Chief Scientific Officer and Head of Global R&D, Merial; Board member, European Industrial R&D Management Association)

FLODSTRÖM, Anders, Dr. (University Chancellor, Swedish National Agency for Higher Education)

GOŁĘBIOWSKA-TATAJ, Daria, Dr. (Founder and Managing Partner, EMF (Enterprise Management & Finance) Consultancy; Professor/Researcher, Warsaw University of Technology Business School)

HERRMANN, Wolfgang, Dr. (President, Technische Universität München)

KING, Julia, Professor, (Vice-Chancellor of Aston University, Birmingham, U.K., Member of the U.K. Government’s Technology Strategy Board, a non-Executive Director of the Department of Innovation, Universities and Skills.)

LOKTU, Morten (Senior vice president, R&D, StatoilHydro ASA)

MAEX, Karen, Dr. (Vice-rector of Science, Engineering and Technology, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (K.U.Leuven); Full Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, K.U.Leuven)

MAGYAR, Bálint, Dr.(Former Secretary of State for Development; Former Minister of Education; Member, Hungarian Parliament)

MÖLLER, Erna, Dr (Executive Director, Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation; Emeritus Professor, Karolinska Institutet; Chairman, Nobel Assembly (2007))

NEUVO, Yrjö, Dr. (Professor, Research director, Helsinki University of Technology; Former Chairman, ARTEMIS Joint Technology Platform; Former CTO, Nokia)

SCHUURMANS, Martin, Prof. Dr. (Former Executive Vice President, Philips Research / Philips Medical Systems)

TROPSCHUH, Peter, Dr. (Head of AutoUni, Volkswagen AG)

VIIK, Linnar (Director, Skype Technologies Ltd; Associate Professor and Member of the Board, Estonian Information Technology College)

VON GABAIN, Alexander Ullrich, Dr. (Co-founder, CSO and Member of the Management Board, Intercell AG; Professor of Microbiology, Max Perutz Laboratories, Vienna ; Foreign adjunct professor, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.