Slideshow: ACE Awards winners at 2014 ESC/EE Live! -

Slideshow: ACE Awards winners at 2014 ESC/EE Live!


SAN JOSE, Calif. — EE Times' and EDN's ACE Awards ceremony is beginning to look like the ecosystem the semiconductor industry favors. Held on Tuesday April 1 at the Fairmont Hotel during UBM Tech Electronics annual conference — now called EE Live! — the award ceremony included more than the usual companies, products, execs, and design teams. It now adds marketing, journalists, and contributors in the mix.

Yes, the 4th Estate is now represented. New this year are the Marketing Team of the Year awards and the Colin Holland Memorial Journalism award for tech journalists.

As you know by now, AQuantia won company of the year, AMD's Lisa Su was awarded executive of the year, and the design team of the year was a Altera/Micron's HMC Stratix V Interoperability Team. Embedded systems engineer and popular columnist Jack Ganssle was honored as contributor of the year, and Ken Smith and Laura Fujino from International Solid State Circuits Conference (ISSCC) were recognized for lifetime achievement.

Junko Yoshida, chief international correspondent, EE Times, and Patrick Mannion, vice president and brand manager of UBM Tech Electronics — the parent company of EE Times and EDN, presented the awards, along with other industry presenters.

Group shot of ACE Award winners, 2014. (Source: EE Times)

Group shot of ACE Award winners, 2014.
(Source: EE Times)

To add to the ACE Awards ecosystem in 2015, a new category called open innovation is being sponsored by Flextronix, representing manufacturing and logistics.

The following pages shows the awardees — I guarantee you can go through this faster than sitting through award ceremony, though it's not as fun.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.